Nearly 6 Months Later…My How Things Have Changed!

I was reminded this morning when I logged into my yahoo account that this blog existed and was in terrible need of updating.  My most sincere apologies to those who follow this, and I will try my hardest to keep this more up to date!

Let’s see. My last post was 4 days before my husband Joe left for his deployment…that would be the same day that I found out that I was pregnant…again! Yep, 4 days before my husband left for an 8-9 month deployment we found out we are expecting another bundle of joy. I am going to be honest here and say that we were supposed to be done at 2 kids. 2 boys! When I read the pregnancy test and went crying out to Joe about the injustice of life, I was completely serious! I didn’t want another kid, unless it was a girl of course. We were nice and settled in our little family. Our kids sleep through the night, they respond to basic commands, eat grown-up food (for the most part). To add another baby to the mix would throw off the dynamic.

Well, 4 shell-shocked days later, Joe got on a plane headed for war torn locales and I was left 5 weeks pregnant with a 5 and 2 year old. Can you talk about a rude awakening? We were moving into summer time and my morning sickness was in full force. Right now I can’t really tell you how I made it through the first 3 months with both kids home and begging for stimulation and attention…and me barely able to lift my head from the toilet and fix them breakfast. There is probably some sort of post traumatic stress trigger that will bring it all back in a few years. But we did it. We made it through a hot and muggy Virginia summer with minimal bloodshed.

In the beginning of August I opted to do a 3d ultrasound to determine the sex of the new baby. I was seeing pink…I assumed after 2 boys that I would be blessed with a beautiful baby girl. I went into the ultrasound with the serene smile of a mother in the know and walked out fighting back tears. You guessed it, another boy. Now I have had almost 3 months to come to terms with another boy and I think I am doing well. We have decided on a name, a family member had a boy less than a year ago so we have tons of new clothes for him. I have resigned myself to the fact that I will be the only female in my house. So long as everyone is happy and healthy.

Due to the new addition, the military is moving us into a 4 bedroom house in a neighborhood down the street. We move on Halloween. So on top of being nearly 7 months pregnant, my house is boxed up and somehow I am going to have to figure out how to dig up the satellite dish so housing doesn’t have a panic attack. My husband doesn’t come home until either right before or right after the baby comes (we still don’t have a firm homecoming date). You can say life took a hard left turn…or right turn…whichever your fancy, but being the military family that we are we are dealing with it the best we can.

If anyone is still reading this, I am so sorry I stopped blogging for a while but as I have been writing this I have realized that really is a good outlet. Especially for someone who only talks to children all day and spends her nights worried sick about her husband.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,423 hits
