Government Shutdown.

Ok this really grinds my gears. I am NOT into politics, never have been and most likely never will be. Whoever is in the White House at a certain time usually has no bearing on my day-to-day. At most, we just get more or less of a raise at the beginning of the year. But for the past few months, the government has been threatening a shut down. Fantastic.

At first, I read over the article and shrugged my shoulders. Eh, what was the big deal? So we couldn’t visit national parks for a while (and I know this is not the only thing that would shut down…don’t flame me yet). But then I started researching more in-depth. Bring on the googling. I googled for hours. Looking at military websites, government websites, forums…you name it, I was there lurking. I unearthed some articles that irked me. People were saying that the government employees would NOT be getting paid. Well fine, I said. My husband is in the military and who would ever think about not paying their military members? Two hours later, I was steaming mad. There is a general consensus around the internet that if the government can’t pull their heads out of their asses, we will not be getting paid.

So I sweated through the middle and end of March and was pleased to see our LES up for the April 1st pay period. An LES is the military version of a paystub. Comes out a week before we get paid. It stands for Leave and Earnings Statement. Our money direct deposited on the 1st and I paid my bills, did my grocery shopping, put a little in savings. The usual. Then I get up this morning to drink my coffee and surf the net and I see a news story on how congress can’t figure out what they want to do and that my husband may not be getting paid as of April 8th.

They made a big deal of saying that active duty military members would be required to report for work and would see their pay retroactively when the government starts running again. That is all fine and dandy, but what am I supposed to do in the meantime? Yes, we have an emergency fund. No we don’t live paycheck to paycheck but this would be an extreme inconvenience. In the civilian world if you go to work you get paid. Nobody would say, “Hi, I am going to need you to work a 12 hour day in extreme conditions. By the way, you won’t be getting paid.” But this is exactly what my husband, and many other military members will have to be doing. What about the guys fighting for their lives and our freedom in Afghanistan? Do they not deserve their meager paycheck? What about those military families that are on welfare and food stamps? What about the $1000 in back pay that they still owe me for the screw up on our pay while my husband was in Cuba? Military pay has always been a hot issue, and now it’s about to get hotter.

I like to think that the American people wouldn’t call for this. That we support our troops and recognize that any work deserves a paycheck. But what I think doesn’t matter. It’s those childish men and women who are in charge that can’t get their shit together and keep our country running smoothly. One signature and the men and women who are protecting our country will not be getting compensated for their dedication and hard work. To me, that is pathetic.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 05:52:44

    Different, but similar. You have my empathy AND my sympathy in this case. I’ll admit I haven’t been keeping up with USA news of late, but this sounds particularly stupid on the face of it.

    I assume there is some “reason” given for all this? Not a logical one, I am sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,423 hits
