Hey! Mrs. Doc Brady!

This is what my husband’s marines call me. A little background info on a “field corpsmen”…My husband Joe is a field corpsmen, meaning he is trained to work with the marines. The Marine Corps doesn’t have their own medical so they use the Navy’s. When you see pictures of marines in Afghanistan or Iraq, there is ALWAYS a corpsmen with them in the platoon. Since there is one corpsmen to maybe sixty or so marines, they get the honorary title of “Doc”. I know about 27 thousand “doc’s” since all of my husband’s corpsman friends are also called doc. Get a few in the same room and you start to get confused. 

Anywho, these marines are all younger than my husband and I, so most of them are super polite military style. “Yes ma’am, no ma’am, thank you ma’am.” You get the picture. I adore the politeness from a military man. Too bad my husband doesn’t have more of it 😉 It would seem that a few of the marines get nervous when they are talking to me. I have told them repeatedly that they are allowed to call me Sam but they won’t. As I was trying to assure a marine that this wouldn’t be a breach of military conduct, he nervously blurted out, “Yes ma’am Mrs. Doc Brady, ma’am!”

I was surprised into silence (something that doesn’t happen too often, let me tell you). My husband started laughing, and the marine looked like he didn’t know whether to laugh with him or run out of my front door. He opted for a stoic smile…

And yes, my last name is Brady. Let’s all get it out of our systems now… “There’s a story of a lovely ladddyy, who was bringing up three very loveelllly girls!” I do not claim this last name by birth, only by marriage. My maiden name was a nice, no jokes name. Oh well. You love the man, you love the name.

So at our house we are often referred to as “Doc and Mrs. Doc Brady.” Pretty classy for a couple of people who haven’t finished college yet and don’t plan on ever holding a Ph.D in anything don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,423 hits
